Book Review – The Girl On The Train

Status Read from October 06 to 17, 2016
Format Epub

•I AM OFFERED A VIEW INTO OTHER LIVES•

This book is a brilliant thriller and the best part about this book is there’s “a new secret on every page”.
Having three Female narrators Rachel, Megan and Anna, this book revolves around Rachel who’s is devastated, divorced and betrayed by her husband Tom.

Ever imagined that what’s happening behind the wall of your room? Have you ever thought about who else is there inside the door just next to yours? Who’s watching you from a window down the street?

Sometimes I think that I wish to know what’s happening in others life and there I found Paula Hawkins’s The Girl On The Train.

Rachel is a filthy drunk woman who goes out of her mind into others life by imagining and building the characters she was or wished to be once. Especially the one she built, the lives of ‘JASON & JESS’ in her imagination who lived at a house outside the train window from where she sees it every day when the train stops at a red signal. But then on Saturday morning, things were not as she saw them from the train and Rachel sees something that completely shatters the image of ‘JASON & JESS’ which existed in her mind.

Now Rachel is solving the mystery and she is pulled into their lives. She needs to remember what’s hidden in the “Black Hole” of her memory. She can not give up until she finds out the ‘only truth’.

Paula Hawkins has a wonderful writing skill and she has written her (debut) novel so beautifully that no wonder why I was so lost in those plots she set that it made me think on every page ‘who to trust now’. The more I tried to predict the more Paula proved me wrong and each time I enjoyed it a lot. She knows how to keep her reader gripped to the book from page one to the end.

Here are my favorite quotes from the book:

  1. “A tiding of magpies: One for sorrow, two for joy, three for a girl, four for a boy, five for silver, six for gold, seven for a secret never to be told”
  2. “Life is not a paragraph, and death is no parenthesis.”
  3. “I don’t know. I don’t know where that strength went, I don’t remember losing it. I think that over time it got chipped away, bit by bit, by life, by the living of it.”
  4. “It’s impossible to resist the kindness of strangers.”
  5.  “And I’ve just got to let myself feel the pain, because if I don’t if I keep numbing it, it’ll never really go away.”
  6. “I am offered a view into other lives.”
  7. “I have never understood how people can blithely disregard the damage they do by following their hearts.”
  8. “The holes in your life are permanent. You have to grow around them, like tree roots around concrete; you mould yourself through the gaps.”
  9. “I did become sadder, and sadness gets boring after a while, for the sad person and for everyone around them.”
  10. “It’s impossible to resist the kindness of strangers.”
  11. “Focusing on sense other than sight often helps.”
  12. “By the end of the day everyone is going to know where they stand.”

I am definitely buying Hawkins for my shelf.

This book is fascinatingly thrilling with many untold secrets. I hope the movie adaptation does justice with Paula.

Leave a Reply

